Men’s Lacrosse
Bookmark and Share
CENTRAL ISLIP, N.Y.-  The Dowling College men’s lacrosse team placed six players on the East Coast Conference All-Conference teams.  Head Coach Tim Boyle was named Co-Coach of the Year as voted on by his peers.

Earning a spot on the First Team was senior Matt Crough at the attack position.  Joining him were midfielders senior Billy Richardson and sophomore Brian White and on the defensive end senior Derek Muzio

Earning a spot on the Second Team was senior long stick midfielder Sheldon Burns and picking up Honorable Mention recognition is senior midfielder Tom Cleary.

Crough led the Golden Lions with 46 goals on the season along with 10 assists for a total of 56 points.  He posted a season high eight point (4g, 4a) earlier this season against Chestnut Hill College.

Richardson spent another successful year patrolling the midfield for the Golden Lions.  He finished with 36 total points with 15 goals and dishing out 21 assists.  In the ECC opener earlier this season against Molloy College, the senior totaled eight points with two goals and six assists.

White mirrored Richardson’s performance on the season racking up 36 points on 19 goals and 15 assists form the midfield position.  The sophomore picked up 20 groundballs and caused three turnovers.

Leading the defensive unit this season was Muzio as he caused opponent turnovers 21 times while scooping up 40 groundballs. 

Burns played in and started in each game of the season for the Golden Lions at long pole position.  He registered seven goals and three assists on the season while causing an ECC leading 34 turnovers and scooping 50 groundballs.

Rounding out the award winners, Cleary was a mainstay of the Dowling midfield and contributed 16 goals and one assist.

In his 14th season leading the Dowling College Golden Lions, head coach Tim Boyle led his team to an 11-3 overall record with a 7-1 conference mark good for a share of the ECC Regular Season Title.  He has guided his team to a No. 1 seed in the first ever ECC Men’s Lacrosse Championship Tournament, as they will face the No. 4 seeded Chestnut Hill College.
2014 ECC Mens Lacrosse AllConference
First Team                                                 Second Team                           Honorable Mention                                   
A Matt Crough, Dowling                                 Matty Beccaris, LIU Post                      Chase Fraser, UDC
A Michael Melnychenko, Chestnut Hill                      Joe Leonard, Molloy                             Ryan Slane, LIU Post
A Luke Miller, NYIT                                                 Jesse Wood, Mercy                             Cory Triola, NYIT
M Anthony Berardis, LIU Post                                 Peter Clark, Molloy                               Tom Cleary, Dowling
M Billy Richardson, Dowling                             Tom Hughes, NYIT                               Joe Costello, LIU Post
M Brian White, Dowling                                 Michael Landau, Chestnut Hill               Conor Drost, LIU Post
D Robbie Chiocco, LIU Post                                   Derick Darnulc, Chestnut Hill                 Danny Chillianis, Mercy
D Jon Lynott, NYIT                                                James Lang, Molloy                              Kyle Frenger, Molloy
D Derek Muzio, Dowling                                   Justin Woodley, LIU Post                       Ed Torriero, NYIT
LS Danny McDermott, NYIT                                   Sheldon Burns, Dowling                    T.J. McAndrew, LIU Post
SPCL Nick Pelella, NYIT                                        Kevin Glueckert, Mercy                          Octavio Bernabo, LIU Post
GK Alex Seltzer, NYIT                                           T.J. DiCarlo, LIU Post                             John Grebe, Molloy
GK                                                                                                                                   Matthew Quinones., Dominican                                                  
Player of the Year: Luke Miller, Jr., A, NYIT
Defensive Player of the Year: Danny McDermott, Sr., D, NYIT
Goalkeeper and Rookie of the Year: Alex Seltzer, NYIT
CoCoach of the Year: Tim Boyle, Dowling
CoCoach of the Year: Bull Dunn, NYIT
Print Friendly Version